Thursday, October 7, 2010

Tobacco Road Sports Cafe, Restaurant Review

If you are looking for a fun spot in Durham you may want to visit the Tobacco Road Sports Cafe, located right at the Durham Bulls Pall Park. I will admit, I was a bit over stimulated when I walked into 40 big screen TVs the other night, but had a wonderful experience sitting outside on the patio which overlooked the Bulls ball diamond. There were lots of people rooting on their favorite college football team that night. You will also find abundant seating options: outside, inside, bar seating, private dining areas and recliners! I learned that there are two locations: the Durham location at: 280 Mangum St and one in Raleigh at 222 Glenwood Avenue. These locations are owned by brothers: Brian, Alex and Rommie Amra. Prior to meeting our friends for dinner, I investigated the menu on line and found the Tobacco Road Blog which detailed their gluten free offerings as follows:

The following items are gluten free or can be made gluten free by making the modification that are noted.

Entrees & Appetizers

BBQ Chicken – No tobacco onions
Fish/Lamb Gorditas – No tortilla
Steak Frites – Substitute a gluten free side for fries
Shrimp & Grits – No gravy
Mixed Green Salad – No croutons
Apple Walnut Salad
Cobb Salad
Arugula Salad
Ancho Chicken Salad – No tortilla strips
Hummus & Pimento Cheese with Veggies
Tarheel Wrap – No pita
Burgers – No bun


Mashed Potatoes
Green Beans
Collard Greens
Cheddar Grits

Our server was very knowledgeable and even offered to bring me extra vegetables for my hummus since I would not be using the pita bread. I was impressed when I asked about ingredients in the soup of the day and was told that the chef that made the soup was gone for the day and so they were erring on the side of caution and could not guarantee it was gluten free. If you are a sports fan or just looking for a fun place to eat that offers some gluten free options I would recommend you visit the Tobacco Road Sports Cafe in Durham!


Zach said...

Debbie, thanks for the info... I'll have to check out the Raleigh location. Did they have any GF Beer?

VeggieAmanda said...

Were the pea cakes GF? I think they they are listed under the burger section. I ask b/c that seems to be one of the few vegan options that they have.

Debbie Jongkind,RD,LDN said...

The pea cakes were not listed on the GF list. They probably use flour, bread crumbs or some gluten containing source in the ingredients. The hummus and pimento cheese with veggies was very good. I just brought my own gluten free crackers.