Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Passover and Gluten Free Products

Passover began at sunset Tuesday March 29 and extends through Monday April 5th. Dietary restrictions include refraining from "Chametz" all edible fermented grain products to include leavened grains. While not all "Passover foods" are gluten free many are and can be easily found in the grocery store. The Gluten Intolerance Group features a very good article by Cheryl Harris, MPH, RD, LD entitled:"Passover Great GF selection". You can also go to the Manishewitz site for a complete listing of their gluten free products.
Tip: Many of these items may go on sale after Passover and this would be a good way to stock your gluten free pantry!

No comments: